Meeting with Sony

I hope you guys liked the sneak peek of the poster mock up.  I will try and post more exclusive content soon.

Yesterday was a crazy long day.  Met Brent at Church at 10 to drive to LAX.  Picked up Chris and Denise and went to Sony.  We ate at the commissary there.  Chris and Denise are always a breath of fresh air.  We get along with them as if we have known them forever…they are really nice smart fun people.  I told them they need to be doing a blog as well…so Jessica can you get them all set up? By the way Jessica runs all our “grassroots” marketing/media I guess is what they call it.  She takes care of our twitter, facebook and website…as well as keeping up on all things human trafficking.  She is another spectacular and extremely valued member of our team
Sorry, where was I?  Oh yeah, back at Sony…We ate lunch and caught up.  The commissary at Sony is in this huge open lobby space that is like a very large indoor courtyard [is there such a thing as an indoor courtyard?].  You can see the walkways 8 stories up where all the offices are but, what I really like is that they have all this movie “stuff” on display.  I should tell you I LOVE MOVIE STUFF!  I just do.  Props and posters and storyboards and renderings and costumes…I just love it.  So, while everyone else got food, I wandered the lobby checking out the Spiderman costume and the black villain’s costume [what was his name?] and Doc Oc’s tentacles.  Very cool stuff.

So we eat and wait for Matthew, our lead pastor to arrive.  He just finished a first pass on a book he is writing.  I don’t want to say too much about it because I am not sure I am supposed to be mentioning it [you guys may be getting inside info again…so what if it is inadvertently?].  Once he arrives we all head up to meet with Steve O, Rich P and Joshua N. on the 7th floor @ Sony Pictures

What a great meeting.  Steve stayed for about 30 minutes and Rich and Joshua gave us a full hour.  Matthew started us off by laying out the story of his trip to India where God laid it on his heart to build schools and get actively involved in the plight of the Dalit people.  Next, Brent pitched the story.  I did a ton of listening until asked specific questions.  Chris drove the meeting – excellently I might add.  As a side note, I want to say that it was easy to see that these Sony guys clearly have a ton of respect for the Chris and Denise and what they bring to the table.   Rich and Steve both had some caste system based questions and then Steve asked some budget and technical questions, before agreeing to read for the second time the script and then he politely excused himself.  That is a ton of personal time for a VP at a major studio to spend with us.  I hope he knew that we are extremely grateful.

Once Steve left, Joshua and Chris continued to ask great questions about India, the caste system and how we intended to pull off this project in a relevant way.  Then Rich said something that really struck a chord with all of us…he said high school and college aged students need a “war cry,” something they can get passionate and “angry” about. He fells like this project could be that!  Wow, what an amazing thought! What a God thing it would be if we could all band together and create something…a motion picture that ignites a fire under people who are begging to be lit up for God and for a cause!  That thought carries so much weight and so much responsibility…glad you guys are all on the team with us!  Make no mistake it will take ALL OF US to make this film…to start the “war cry” and to educate and free the Dalits and save children from human trafficking.  Okay, okay, I know but this is super exciting stuff!

Joshua was great in that meeting as well.  He knew about the Dalits and the caste system [though he did say to Brent after that the reason he knew was because he had seen our documentary!] regardless, he was and will be a valuable team member if Sony comes on board…and even if they don’t… he showed great passion for this subject and really seemed to get what we are trying to accomplish.  Just a great meeting all around!

Next, Chris, Denise, Brent and I headed over to Beverly’s office [our casting director] to go through the script one more time!!  Oh joy!  By this point, everyone knows I am tired of writing…but, we have “one more” pass to go – at least that is what they are telling me.  We got there at about 3pm I am guessing and left at 7pm.  It was a crazy, fun and tedious 4 hours…only made bearable for me by the people in the room!  They all have such a passion for this story and have great notes [even if I don’t always agree] they are well thought out and make sense…so we argue back and forth until someone relents, and then move on…1 page at a time.    We laughed almost until we cried at times and got another full set of notes hammered out!  Now, I will spend the weekend writing…trying to get a pass to Brent by Monday…who will then get it to Chris and Denise by Tuesday…God willing.  After eating almost the entire basket of treats  Beverly had in her conference room, we passed on our thanks to her for being so flexible and allowing us the use of her office space and headed back to the airport to drop Chris and Denise off…another amazing day with people that truly feel like family!

Now to some personal items that I want to share…people bat around the word hero pretty regularly in our society.  I rarely see what they are talking about.  It just seems too easy…like if everyone that is labeled a “hero” truly is then what do you call someone who honestly does something completely selfless and so far beyond the realms of what could ever be asked at great risk to themselves, without a moments hesitation?  Well whatever it is you call them, that is what we should all be calling Stephen [our great friend and one of our composers].  You see, he recently donated part of his liver to his young nephew and most likely saved the boys life.   The word hero seems so watered down…but since that word is all I know, that is what I will labeled Stephen’s selfless act and I will be even more proud to call him a great friend and frequent collaborator.

Also I may or may not have mentioned this but my grandmother had hip replacement surgery last week.  She is in a great deal of pain at the moment but seems to be on the road to recovery.   I am actually heading down to San Diego after I finish writing this to visit with her and my mother.

Hope you are well and thanks again…as always, for taking some time out of your day to plug in with us.
It is appreciated.
J

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

